top of page

Acerca de

Sarah Jane "The Story"

Sarah-Jane – «With Heart & Soul»

 

Good mood has a name: Sarah-Jane. After almost 20 years in the folk music and hit business, the Basel native reinvents herself with the album "Mit Herz & Soul".

 

When Sarah-Jane calls her new album "With Heart & Soul", she doesn't do it by accident. "Mit Herz & Soul" isn't just an album title. "Mit Herz & Soul" is the program on the new long player from the Basel bidder. Because there is a lot of both in this 16-track work. The sheer length of the tracklist alone shows that there are few artists willing to give more heart to their fans. In times of Spotify and pressure on margins in the music business, who else packs so many songs onto an album?

 

But it's not just in the crowd that Sarah-Jane pours out her heart on "Mit Herz & Soul". Even in the songs themselves. Of course, the songs that the singer and entertainer has put together on her new album are well-known songs. But how she did it is all new, dewy — and incredibly refreshing. Sarah-Jane re-recorded all songs for "Mit Herz & Soul" together with the Dani Sparn Orchestra. Not only with heart and soul, but also with a lot of groove, dynamics and sensitivity. In short: the woman, who has made a name for herself in pop and folk music circles over the past 20 years, emancipates herself from this corset and, thanks to her new producer Manu Stix, expands her artistic profile to become a soul diva.  

 

Of course, that can still be "lippy" like in "You're mine for breakfast". But also opulent and with a lot of soul as in "There are always miracles". "Alle Tage Herz" flirts coquettishly with country rhythms, "Das Farbenspiel des Winds" is a magnificently orchestrated ballad that is unparalleled far and wide. And then of course the classics "Sway" by Dean Martin, "Caruso" by Lucio Dalla or the unique interpretation of "Purple Rain" should not be missing. In short: no hurdle is too high for Sarah-Jane to jump over with seemingly effortless ease.

 

Only: Changing images is such a thing for musicians. As a rule, they have two options - and none of them are really exciting: Either they uncompromisingly focus on what makes them want to - with the risk of alienating the fans. Or they follow the preferences of the followers, who ultimately helped to make them a star - and risk getting artistically dead-end.

 

After she was discovered by Ländlerkönig Carlo Brunner, Sarah-Jane pushed her career forward carefully and purposefully - and yet always carefully. Today the singer and musician, who was born in India in 1985 and was adopted in Switzerland when she was six months old, is one of the big names in the industry in Switzerland, Germany and Austria. With the album "Mit Herz & Soul" she is about to open a new chapter in her career and expand her musical nature and work by (at least) one facet.

 

In recent years, Sarah-Jane has continuously expanded her repertoire with songs from the endless universe of gospel, rock and pop. After her last album «Magic Moments», on which she collected highlights from 16 years of her career and a dreamlike piano ballad «Du bist mein Kompass», written for her mother, in spring 2021 she released the single «Dein Lied» indicated the musical direction in which she should go in the future.

 

Whereby: It's probably too high to believe that Sarah-Jane can be pinned down to a single musical direction. The charismatic singer from Rothenfluh, BL, is simply too versatile to be pigeonholed. There are elements of pop, hits and country to be heard; Sarah-Jane doesn't shy away from celebrating funky brass sections as well as tracks that follow well-known Schlager schemes. What they have in common in this musical diversity is a good mood and a fundamentally positive view of life. A virus that, in contrast to others, one likes to be infected by.

 

At the age of 18, Sarah-Jane won the first folk talent competition at the Engelberg Alpine Schlager Festival. Hit composer and folk music legend Carlo Brunner and his sister Maja Brunner were so enthusiastic that he immediately took them under his wing. The fact that she was voted into the international final of the Grand Prix of Folk Music by the Swiss audience in 2004, 2005 and 2009 was almost a logical consequence - with second place internationally with "Once there, once here" as the great highlight .  

 

This was followed by appearances in all the major TV shows such as the "Krone der Volksmusik", "Musikantenstadl", "Immer wieder Sundays", "Froehlicher Leben". "Donnschtig-Jass" and many more. In 2008 it was Sarah-Jane, who presented herself in Basel's St. Jakobspark, which was almost at home

42,500 spectators opened EURO 08 with the Swiss national anthem. It's no wonder, since she's now teaming up with well-established figures in the entertainment industry in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. 

bottom of page

top of page

Acerca de

Sarah Jane "L'histoire"

Sarah-Jane – « Avec cœur et âme »

 

La bonne humeur a un nom : Sarah-Jane. Après presque 20 ans dans le folk et le hit business, la bâloise se réinvente avec l'album "Mit Herz & Soul".

 

Lorsque Sarah-Jane appelle son nouvel album "With Heart & Soul", elle ne le fait pas par hasard. "Mit Herz & Soul" n'est pas qu'un titre d'album. "Mit Herz & Soul" est au programme du nouveau joueur long du soumissionnaire bâlois. Parce qu'il y a beaucoup des deux dans cette œuvre de 16 titres. La longueur même de la tracklist montre à elle seule qu'il y a peu d'artistes prêts à donner plus de cœur à leurs fans. À l'époque de Spotify et de la pression sur les marges dans le secteur de la musique, qui d'autre rassemble autant de chansons sur un album ?

 

Mais ce n'est pas seulement dans la foule que Sarah-Jane s'épanche sur "Mit Herz & Soul". Même dans les chansons elles-mêmes. Bien sûr, les chansons que la chanteuse et artiste a rassemblées sur son nouvel album sont des chansons bien connues. Mais la façon dont elle l'a fait est toute nouvelle, rosée – et incroyablement rafraîchissante. Sarah-Jane a réenregistré toutes les chansons de "Mit Herz & Soul" avec le Dani Sparn Orchestra. Non seulement avec cœur et âme, mais aussi avec beaucoup de groove, de dynamique et de sensibilité. En bref : la femme, qui s'est fait un nom dans les milieux de la musique pop et folk ces 20 dernières années, s'émancipe de ce corset et, grâce à son nouveau producteur Manu Stix, élargit son profil artistique pour devenir une diva de la soul.  

 

Bien sûr, cela peut toujours être "lippy" comme dans "You're mine for breakfast". Mais aussi opulent et avec beaucoup d'âme comme dans "Il y a toujours des miracles". "Alle Tage Herz" flirte avec coquetterie sur les rythmes country, "Das Farbenspiel des Winds" est une ballade magnifiquement orchestrée et sans équivalent. Et puis bien sûr les classiques "Sway" de Dean Martin, "Caruso" de Lucio Dalla ou l'interprétation unique de "Purple Rain" ne devraient pas manquer. En bref : aucun obstacle n'est trop élevé pour que Sarah-Jane saute par-dessus avec une facilité apparemment sans effort.

 

Seulement : Changer d'images est une telle chose pour les musiciens. En règle générale, ils ont deux options - et aucune d'entre elles n'est vraiment excitante : Soit ils se concentrent sans concession sur ce qui leur donne envie - au risque de s'aliéner les fans. Ou ils suivent les préférences des followers, qui ont finalement contribué à en faire une star - et risquent de se retrouver artistiquement dans une impasse.

 

Après avoir été découverte par le Ländlerkönig Carlo Brunner, Sarah-Jane a fait avancer sa carrière avec précaution et détermination - et pourtant toujours avec précaution. Aujourd'hui, la chanteuse et musicienne, née en Inde en 1985 et adoptée en Suisse à l'âge de six mois, est l'un des grands noms de l'industrie en Suisse, en Allemagne et en Autriche. Avec l'album "Mit Herz & Soul", elle s'apprête à ouvrir un nouveau chapitre de sa carrière et à élargir sa nature musicale et son travail par (au moins) une facette.

 

Au cours des dernières années, Sarah-Jane n'a cessé d'élargir son répertoire avec des chansons de l'univers infini du gospel, du rock et de la pop. Après son dernier album «Magic Moments», sur lequel elle a recueilli les moments forts de 16 ans de sa carrière et une ballade onirique au piano «Du bist mein Kompass», écrite pour sa mère, elle sort au printemps 2021 le single «Dein Lied» indiqué le direction musicale dans laquelle elle devrait aller à l'avenir.

 

Par quoi : C'est probablement trop élevé pour croire que Sarah-Jane puisse être cantonnée à une seule direction musicale. Le chanteur charismatique de Rothenfluh, BL, est tout simplement trop polyvalent pour être catalogué. Il y a des éléments de pop, de hits et de country à entendre; Sarah-Jane n'hésite pas à célébrer les sections de cuivres funky ainsi que les morceaux qui suivent les schémas bien connus de Schlager. Ce qu'ils ont en commun dans cette diversité musicale, c'est une bonne humeur et une vision foncièrement positive de la vie. Un virus par lequel, contrairement aux autres, on aime être infecté.

 

À l'âge de 18 ans, Sarah-Jane a remporté le premier concours de talents folkloriques au festival Engelberg Alpine Schlager. Le compositeur à succès et légende de la musique folk Carlo Brunner et sa sœur Maja Brunner étaient si enthousiastes qu'il les a immédiatement pris sous son aile. Le fait qu'elle ait ensuite été élue en finale internationale du Grand Prix de la musique folklorique par le public suisse en 2004, 2005 et 2009 était une conséquence presque logique - avec une deuxième place internationale avec "Once there, once here" comme grand moment fort. .  

 

Cela a été suivi par des apparitions dans toutes les grandes émissions de télévision telles que "Krone der Volksmusik", "Musikantenstadl", "Immer wieder Sundays", "Froehlicher Leben". "Donnschtig-Jass" et bien d'autres. En 2008, c'est Sarah-Jane qui s'est présentée au St. Jakobspark de Bâle, qui était presque chez elle

42 500 spectateurs ont ouvert l'EURO 08 avec l'hymne national suisse. Ce n'est pas étonnant, puisqu'elle s'associe désormais à des personnalités bien établies de l'industrie du divertissement en Allemagne, en Autriche et en Suisse. 

bottom of page